can anyone help?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Wednesday 6 March 2002 3.30am
Hi
I'm a student from portsmouth, about to start a research project on the 'south bank' area and would be really really grateful if anyone could recommend particular areas of interest apart from the main touristy type attractions.

We have to delve a bit deeper into our chosen areas - history/community/changes over the years/what its like to live there/what types of people live and/or work there, etc. As well as a visual record of interesting buildings, people, etc. (it's for a communications design degree - so visual input is important)

So basically I would love some suggestions for good places to:
photograph
record sound/video
get local information (historical/contemporary)
generally find things that other people will be interested to find out about (i'm being 'peer' assessed by other students)

I would also be eternally grateful if anyone could email me what they think of the area, what could be improved - how things have changed (good/bad?) or just a memory they have of the place. Anything at all really would be a massive help! my email's: shiney_monkey@hotmail.com

finally - are there any areas I should avoid - I read a couple of the postings on muggings - and my friend and I will be carrying cameras and maybe video cameras - will we be ok? as you may have guessed i'm not from the area - I live in portsmouth but chose this area for my project because I've visited a couple of times and liked the atmosphere and thought it a really interesting place.

anyway enough of my wittering on! thanks for your time,
caroline
Wednesday 6 March 2002 3.54am