Planning Help?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Tuesday 27 January 2004 1.17pm
My community group, Friends of Archbishops Park, has been informed of a large planning application to replace Becket and York Houses on Lambeth Palace Road. We are invited to comment - by 12 Feb. Ground floor plus 10-13 storeys of office building.

I am not an expert, but know that planning is one of the many areas that erudite posters seem to know about.

The development is not immediately adjacent to the park so I assume areas of concern are:

- any overshadowing that will detract from the current feel and atmosphere of the park (which is very pretty and in a conservation area).

- that despite the rapid and cumulative development and increased tourist, leisure, worker and residential densities in the area (post-London Eye everything has changed dramatically and is continuing to do so) there has been very little apparant investment in public facilities used by local people. If the area is to continue to be a good place to live in for both the old and new populations there needs to be investment in local facilities so that such facilities can cope with the increased demand.

- traffic etc.

I have not had a chance to look at the plans as I only got the letter this morning. (Why can't Lambeth post them on the web-site like Wandsworth - and arn't they supposed to give us 28 days to comment?) But the letter kindly tells me that an Environmental Statement has been prepared, but it costs 85 from a firm called Montagu Evans.

Our group has raised the money to get professionals to prepare a management plan for the park on behalf of Lambeth. (35,000!) We did this in part to provide Lambeth with the basis for negotiating planning gain money to go into the park. At this stage what arguments should 'the community' be putting forward for this development to be contributing to the implementation of that plan.