Squatters

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 Next
Current: 1 of 3
Saturday 17 October 2009 7.08pm
Hey everyone,

Am a relative newcomer to SE1 - I've just moved into a flat off Blackfriar's Road. Looking forward to becoming a part of the community - it seems really nice and friendly round here so far.

I'm hoping you longer term residents will be able to help me. I'm a journalist and I've been asked to write an article on squatting. I need to find some squatters to interview and am not averse to writing a letter to any and sticking it through the door with my contact details on. I just need to find the squats! I've heard a few mentioned locally but have no idea where they are.

The article wouldn't seek to judge or to take sides: I'm simply looking to get a glimpse of what life is like for squatters in the capital.
Saturday 17 October 2009 7.16pm
There's an article in Southwark News this week about squatters in two pubs in the borough.
Saturday 17 October 2009 7.23pm
Hi queenjane. Are you allowed to say what publication it's for?
Saturday 17 October 2009 8.12pm
I think there may be some squatters in the buildings on St George's circus (I believe that they belong to the London South Bank University and have apparently been left derelict in order for them to decay to the point that they can demolish them and then completely redevelop/ sell the land to a developer?)

There are lots of handdrawn posters in the windows so I just assume there are...
Saturday 17 October 2009 8.30pm
http://www.london-se1.co.uk/news/view/4034

Editor of the London SE1 website.
Subscribe to our SE1 Direct weekly newsletter.
Monday 19 October 2009 9.39am
In Darnay house corner of abbey street jamaica road, some flats are squatted.
Monday 19 October 2009 9.49am
The Simon the Tanner pub in Long Lane has squatters living in there
Monday 19 October 2009 10.03am