Care Home

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Friday 22 January 2010 2.46pm
Hello gang.

I am looking to move my elderly dad into a residential home near-ish to me here in SE1. I have been on the Care Quality Commission website which is very informative, but was just wondering if any has any personal experience?

Thank you!

Glen
Friday 22 January 2010 4.37pm
Are you looking for private or NHS, and are you looking for Retirement Homes or Nursing Homes. Just putting my ma into a Nursing home in Battersea...
Friday 22 January 2010 5.38pm
I have no experience of Residential Homes in SE1, but I would say you can not believe every thing you read or are told by professionals when it comes to the care of the elderly.

One of the things to do is to visit potential Homes and ask lots of questions and notice if there is any smell of urine. Are the Residents helped with their meals, is there a choice of meals, is there some one to arrange activities, who is in charge, what are their qualifications and so on.
We have visited Care and Nursing Homes and on first impression some seem to offer excellent facilities and care ... but of course there were no Vacancies in the good ones.
Our Relative is being cared for at home after staying in a really unpleasant Care Home, she relies on her carers, but those I have met, reflect their love of their work in their attitude to their client. A quality certainly lacking by the carers employed in the Care Home.
A Carer works in a poorly paid profession and it is extremely hard work, but our old folk deserve respect and dignity when they can no longer care for themselves.
Good luck with your search for a Care Home for your Father.
Zoe
Friday 22 January 2010 8.30pm
It might not be suitable for you, but Southwark has some very good sheltered housing units (and if you are lucky and in Lambeth the units in Waterloo are particularly good). The nearest one is on Brook Drive.