What's happening to the building at 1 Valentine Place?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Wednesday 17 March 2010 1.26pm
It's the building behind the Crown Pub.
The scaffolding suggests demolition and they've already taken what appears to be the flashing from the roof - presumably sold as scrap.
I can't find any planning app on the southwark website but the door lintel suggests the building is from 1861 so quite an old one to lose, although I guess the building is very small to do anything with. But it's also got quirky charm.
Apparently was occupied by Optomen Television.
Are they amalgamating with other sites? Again, can't find any planning app (although I'm a novice at searching for such things)

Steve
Wednesday 17 March 2010 1.47pm
You can see the building on Google streetview.Hopefully they're renovating.
Wednesday 17 March 2010 4.59pm
There are no current planning applications for 1 Valentine Place, and none have been made since 2005.

There is an Outstanding Application for the building directly in front of it on Blackfriars Road:

102-107 BLACKFRIARS ROAD, LONDON, SE1 8HW Erection of a new part three and part seven storey building for office use (Use Class B1) on the upper floors and a shop (Use Class A1) and offices (Use Class B1) on the ground floor.

http://planningonline.southwarksites.com/planningonline2/AcolNetCGI.exe?ACTION=UNWRAP&RIPNAME=Root.PgeResultDetail&TheSystemkey=9525000

There is no detail on why this is still to be determined.
Wednesday 17 March 2010 5.24pm
BigPhil at the Crown may know.

That application, does it apply to the vacant lot next to the Crown, do you know?

Slightly off topic: Does anyone have any idea what is happening at the old newspaper distributors' building on Webber St? There is much activity.
Thursday 18 March 2010 1.56am