London Blitz 1940

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 Next
Current: 1 of 3
Saturday 21 August 2010 7.20pm
Hi, I'm new to this but I wonder if someone can help me.
My grandparents, great grandparents, two aunts and a niece were killed in the war by a bomb on 8 September 1940 in their home at 47 Camilla Road, Bermondsey, London.
Can anyone help me with any information about the event or about where they would be buried.
I believe there is a document called the Metropolitan Borough of Bermondsey section of the Civilian War Dead Register which might give me some information but I do not know how to get hold of it.
Would there be anything in the newspapers do you think as it was in the first few days of the blitz?
Any help on how to get any information would be very helpful.
Many thanks, Andrew
Saturday 21 August 2010 11.14pm
Hi Andrew,
if you go to commonwealth war graves commission
and type in the surname and choose civilian from the drop down menu you should find your relatives - I just did a quick search assuming you have the same name and found a couple of them. The most likely place for burial would be Camberwell Old Cemetery, down in Brockley. Try Southwark council's website to find it.
The South London Press would be the obvious paper to go to for any reports but I don't think their archive is available online.

Good luck!
Monday 23 August 2010 8.11am
John Harvard Library has a good local history department they may be worth a try
Tuesday 24 August 2010 11.33pm
Andrew

The junction of Camilla Road/Fort Road was hit by a High Explosive Bomb on the morning of 8 September 1940 at 1.15am. Three houses were ablaze and gas was escaping. The Wardens' log does not mention any deaths although the casualty roll states that Mary Ann Warren, Rose Mary Warren and Arthur Warren died in St Olave's Hospital later that day. (I obviously worked those out from your info).