Whats it like? Dover Flats, Old Kent Road

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Monday 1 November 2010 6.14pm
Hi I'm new to london, and have seen a nice flat in the Dover Flats complex/building.

Just wondering what the areas like?
Am I going to be accosted by crack fiends at 9 in the morning?
Seem to be getting a mixed message when I google 'is old kent road safe'.
Anyone live in Dover Flats and can say what its like?
Are the neighbours/folk living in the surrounding buildings nice?

Thanks,
Mr Man
Tuesday 2 November 2010 7.35am
Mr. Man, I live in Metro Central (On the corner of OKR and the Elephant). NO we are not all axe murderers I assure you! This is a really cool area to live and we are a mixed bunch of all sorts of professions and ages. Dont hesitate if the flat you've seen is nice and it's good for your work place. We are commited Se1-ers, wouldnt live anywhere else.
Tuesday 2 November 2010 10.27am
Cool, it seems nice and its the only place I've seen that reminds of Glasgow.
Already paid the deposit, just got cold feet when people starting going "ooo, Old Kent Road - thats a bit 'exciting'".
Tuesday 2 November 2010 1.20pm
Hi Mr Man,

I don't live in Dover Flats, or know anyone who does. But I live quite near, am a middle-aged female and I shop quite happily in the OKR. Never been accosted by a crack fiend. (Though it might be different if I were wandering about in the small hours.)

As Jackie says it's a mixed area, which for lots of us is what makes it so enjoyable.

I only moved here a few years ago, I've found people really friendly and I wouldn't live anywhere else. Hope you have a stress-free move and a great time when you get here.
Tuesday 2 November 2010 10.20pm
Hi Mr Man,

Welcome to the area.