Has anyone else been hit with a huge increase in their car insurance premium?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Thursday 14 April 2011 9.27pm
Has anyone else been hit with a huge increase in their car insurance premium?
If so I'd love to hear from you. I'm a freelance journalist currently writing for the South London Press. If you'd like to have your say then please get in touch, my email address is alecmacfarlane@hotmail.com. Many sincere thanks.
Thursday 14 April 2011 10.20pm
Mistaking this for an actual discussion I will post what I was going to write, anyway -

I was hit with a doubled premium, and comparison websites were showing 15% increase on last year's premium too, though for some reason Aviva were 12% cheaper than last year's premium... which made enduring those Paul Whitehouse adverts all worthwhile. no connection etc.
Thursday 14 April 2011 10.53pm
Hi Colinio, discussion welcome of course! South London has always had it hard with car insurance, but I'm hearing of 70-100% increases this year which seem neither fair or relative to insurance company overhead increases. Why has yours doubled? Was there any explanation?
Friday 15 April 2011 7.22am
My wife's re-newal quotation, (no accidents, max NCD) increased by over 50%, from just south of 395.00 to over 600.00.
Without naming names, I went on a comparison site and got her an identical deal for 380.00.
She received a pro-forma letter from her previous insurers, "Sorry to lose you, did we do something wrong?"
She emailed back their quote and a copy of her new insurance cost.
Case closed.
Friday 15 April 2011 7.47am
We got a renewal quote from Admiral up from 300 last years to 500. After looking at price comparison sites, got a quote of 300 from Elephant. Called Admiral and asked if they could better their quote - they asked who had quoted 300 and when I said Elephant, they said "oh, they're part of the same company as us so yes we'll do it for 300".