London Bridge or Bermondsey/Canada Water safety??

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 4 Next
Current: 1 of 4
Saturday 21 January 2012 9.35pm
Dear all,

I'm a professional woman planning to work near Guy's Hospital. So I'm thinking to moving around London Bridge (including Bermondsey st, Borough but not Elephant& Castle), or near Bermondsey underground station/Canada Water, Rotherhithe. A friend of mine told me both areas are great but I have little idea how safe it would be if I walk home at night, like 9PM from bus stops or tube stations. Would you suggest any Pros and Cons for both, + any spotty unsafe areas nearby that you don't recommend, please?
Sunday 22 January 2012 12.06am
Hi Shara,
I work at Guy's and in Rotherhithe, live in Shad Thames.
I'd say London Bridge, Bermondsey St and the areas near the river are as safe as anywhere in London. Canada Water I only know during the day, but its pretty residential with lots of new flats, so looks fine.
Personally I've never felt worried about Bermondsey Station/Jamaica Rd, but there was a stabbing last year. The estates running south of Jamaica Rd I would not feel great about late at night on foot, but there are many worse places a bit further south.
(Cue 'what's wrong with Elephant etc'... cries)
Just my opinion.
pm me if you want any more advice re flat hunting.
B
Sunday 22 January 2012 12.42am
I feel safe in the area and I live in an edgier bit. I actually find shad Thames eerie to walk around at night and didn't join a gym in the circle because of it. Either way this is London so crime is high but across se1 I would say it was the same whether you are in a posh bit or not and generally it's a good area. A quick look on the forum shows it's not specific to certain areas. I am happy here and feel safe. Also if you are out too late taxis back aren't that bad as it's pretty central.
Sunday 22 January 2012 4.48pm
Hi Sahara