Bird watchers

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 Next
Current: 1 of 3
Tuesday 10 April 2012 6.37pm
Hi all.

Are there any bird watchers in the SE1 area?
I love to watch/film & take pictures of them, especially now as we have lots of rare birds around our area now.

I feel a bit silly though on my own, anyone else like watching the birds? Maybe we can set up a local bird watch group?

Btw, saw Ring Necked Parakeets in Tabard Gardens today!!
Tuesday 10 April 2012 6.59pm
Love it,though I am a complete amateur I just love to watch them,we have lots of blue tits and robins feeding outside our window,I don't get to see them feeding much but I hear them outside and it's lovely.
Whilst unfashionable I love magpies and crows and the battles they have,oh and the much underrated blackbird I thought it was a nightingale!
Yet to see a ring necked parakeet but when I do I shall sit and watch,even if it's on the E&C roundabout.
Tuesday 10 April 2012 7.02pm
I'm an amateur too! Let's see if we can get more people interested, maybe we can all go watch them together, talk about them etc?
I too love the Magpies, they are brilliant!
My garden, we have this Robin family which are so tame! The Greenfinches are very shy but are cute!

- Geoff
Tuesday 10 April 2012 7.08pm
Tuesday 10 April 2012 7.54pm
Cheekyg wrote:
Btw, saw Ring Necked Parakeets in Tabard Gardens today!!

Tuesday 10 April 2012 8.33pm
I agree with Spartacus, we do not need the noisy parakeets. but the bird life is amazing if you listen and watch.

I am in the Waterloo area and see wrens, house sparrows, most tits, great blue and long-tailed, jays,(shy birds of the woods!) robins, blackbirds, magpies, crows etc.

Plus the occasional peregrine, and just once, an osprey on its way up the Thames. I asked a twitcher friend and he says they rest at lakes near Canterbury and then move north.

Keep your eyes peeled.
Tuesday 10 April 2012 9.00pm