Street Harassment in Southwark

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Saturday 16 June 2012 9.25am
I am a local resident and Im carrying out some research on street harassment in Southwark (esp. Elephant & Castle).

Im looking for women of all ages who live in the area to have a chat with me over a cup of tea about their experiences (or lack of experience!) of street harassment in the borough.

No matter whether you have lots or little to say, I would love to talk to you, and your contribution will be invaluable to me!

For more information about the research, please click here: http://bit.ly/LabScF

Or email me at r.tilson-smith@lse.ac.uk

Thank you!
Saturday 16 June 2012 4.07pm
Is it only women who get harassed?

...if you press it, they will come.
Saturday 16 June 2012 4.36pm
Nope, you're right! It'd be really interesting to look at male-male, and female-male harassment, but for my research I'm looking at the gendered power relations at play within male-perpetrator/female-victim street harassment. There's only so much you can write in 10,000 words!
Saturday 16 June 2012 6.05pm
I could write 10k words on why(some) people try to represent universal problems as being only relevant to one gender, but good luck with your research.

Saturday 16 June 2012 7.58pm
Ivanhoe wrote:
I could write 10k words on why(some) people try to represent universal problems as being only relevant to one gender, but good luck with your research.

Calm down dear.

I can have a chat with you RosieTS - though, fortunately I've not experienced much street harassment in SE1 (not so for other Boroughs). I'll message you separately.
Saturday 16 June 2012 9.20pm
I could write 10k words on why(some) people try to represent universal problems as being only relevant to one gender, but good luck with your research.[i][/i]

Relevant research, I look forward to reading it.
Sunday 17 June 2012 4.10pm