Flaming scandal at Perronet House

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Monday 2 July 2012 11.26pm
Three years ago on this day six residents died in an inferno at Lakanal House due to defective fire safety. Southwark Council's neglect slaughtered these people. On the three-year anniversary of this tragedy fire regulations are being broken again in a Southwark Council tower block. Perronet House, an award winning eleven storey block of 90 flats at Elephant and Castle is blighted by a need for small repairs that create a huge risk even though 1m was spent in late 2009 making emergency upgrades for fire safety due to an enforcement order from London Fire Brigade.

I'm a resident there and campaigning to get this fixed. I believe it's symptomatic of a truly rotten and defective housing department in Southwark Council, one ridden with incompetence, absenteeism and job vacancies and the distractions of glamorous redevelopment projects and tidy "warmer safer dryer" projects in fortunate specific locations.

For more than two months two communal fire doors remain almost permanently open, stuck on the ground by defective door stoppers and hinges allowing flames to pass unhindered and a metal chute hopper is defective enabling smoke to rise rapidly through the eleven storey building.