Devon Mansions

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Friday 2 November 2012 4.25pm
Hi,

I've been renting in SE1 for 5 years and I'm looking at buying a flat in Devon Mansions.

I know a few people on the forum live there and I wondered if anyone can tell me what they think it's like living there?

Also I've heard that there might be some noise issues, with the walls/floors not being very soundproof. Is this the case? Normally those Victorian buildings are very good for soundproofing, so I would have thought it would be ok...

Any insight much appreciated!
Friday 2 November 2012 10.26pm
hi,
have been renting here for a few months, have a 3 floor flat facing tooley St. Love it walls no problem with soundproofing but (i) noise through cealing a problem ( not sure if upstairs have floorboards but did not put underlay down (ii) noise from vehicles on the road a real issue
Saturday 3 November 2012 12.58pm
I was living in Devon mansions at the time they were "soundproofed" it was a nightmare before the works,I wont bother you with the sort of things one heard but it was pretty clear.
It was one man that took SC on and won although he seemed to ruin his life doing so and became a shadow of the man he was.
Fortunes were spent,carpets ripped up and replaced and the difference/improvement was noticeable but still were very noisey (for me at least)
I occasionally visit a friend still living there and he loves it but I am reminded of the clumping footsteps from above and they have carpets!
Not for me although it has to be said I am a little noise sensitive.
Great area to live though.
Sunday 4 November 2012 10.50am
I live in Devon Mansions too, and I love the place. However noise is a real problem. We can hear our neighbour upstairs stomping around all day, and moving/dropping heavy items, plus a kid running back and forth. We can occasionally hear TV noise too.