Gagarin Square

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next
Current: 1 of 8
Sunday 10 February 2013 12.17pm
I am a Southwark Street resident and I want to say that I've been so pleased and surprised by this project - which I wasn't aware of - and that I hope it will be approved.

Southwark Street is going the have the Shard and its satellites on one side and the emerging cluster around One Blackfriars on the other.

Unlike the area behind the Tate Modern, this stretch of Southwark Street has really been left behind in terms of renovation and I think this idea was exactly what was needed.

The building is NOT too high, it will blend in the skyline very well, providing some sort of mellow transition between the two higher clusters.

The style of the facade is not only reminiscent of the Russia/Gagarin theme, but will also merge fantastically the existing older facade styles with the idea of modernity and verticality, like the Shard already does.

Right now, anyone walking Southwark Street leaving the Shard behind experiences some sort of esthetic trauma... From a shiny futuristic building to a sudden shabby scenario with some frankly derelict corners.

This project will simply provide a badly needed HARMONY to the landscape of the street - it will harmonize the old and the new, the higher and the lower.

I know there is so much resistance to these new schemes out there, I just wanted to make clear that there are also residents who LOVE the ongoing regeneration of this street and I feel this particular project is so spot on.

It may sound crazy but yes, we want and we need a missile right in the middle of Southwark Street!!
Sunday 10 February 2013 12.22pm
Er! What is it? Never heard of it.
Sunday 10 February 2013 12.43pm
Take a look here, here, and watch this video
Sunday 10 February 2013 1.24pm