Buses going too fast

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Friday 25 October 2013 9.22pm
Sad to hear of an accident today on London Road involving a bus on the contraflow lane. This follows a fatal accident last year near St George's Circus on the same contraflow system. I am a local resident and fully aware that this contraflow lane exists yet several times I have forgotten to look in both directions when crossing London Road. My fault of course but I do think this system is inherently dangerous. Plus the other problem is that the buses come hurtling along at 40-50mph.

What I would really like to see is all London buses speed limited to 20mph. Does anyone else agree? Can we get a campaign going and lobby Boris to this effect? Any views?

Thanks
Friday 25 October 2013 10.04pm
Dan M wrote:
Plus the other problem is that the buses come hurtling along at 40-50mph.

Just out of interest - how do you know what speed they are doing?
Friday 25 October 2013 10.25pm
Of course I don't know exactly but I do believe it many of them go faster than is sensible and I cannot see the harm in fitting speed limiters to their buses.
Friday 25 October 2013 10.32pm
So, do you know how many commuters would be happy travelling to work on a bus limited to 20 mph?

For example, Tooley St down to SE16 is a fairly clear straight road.

A trundling 20mph 10 ton bus would be a hazard to other road users as they fought to overtake the tortoise.
Zoe
Friday 25 October 2013 10.41pm
Yet it's not unreasonable to limit central London traffic to 20mph and lots of cities are introducing such speed limits. Buses would be a rolling road block that would enforce this. I wouldn't want buses to only go at 20mph though, there's no need on some roads.

Oooo Tooley Street, the home of pedestrians who walk while reading books. Buses should go at 10mph on that road.
Friday 25 October 2013 10.43pm
Dan M wrote: