Your experience of late night transport

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Thursday 23 October 2014 10.38am
I'm really interested in hearing your experiences of late night travel on the TFL network, both positive and negative. I'm a student at Loughborough University, carrying out a research project looking into creating a safer experience or environment during after hours travel. I'd love to hear your observations, and maybe get some discussions going.

(I've attached a URL of the formal information sheets if you're interested)
Thursday 23 October 2014 3.01pm
my experience of late night transport has been fairly positive, no less so than any other aspect of city life.

a couple of negative experiences have been self inflicted, namely falling asleep and ending up at the end of the line, but thats my own fault and resulted in nothing more than a shivery wait for the return bus

the usual unwritten laws of interacting in a big city at night apply to transport: avoid eye contact, keep yourself to yourself and maintain a fairly judgemental attitude to potential crazies and troublemakers in order to keep out of their way. And never act like you aren't fully in charge and aware of where you are and where you are going. For me a nightbus is no more intimating than say Leicester Square or shaftsbury avenue at 2am...not exactly utopia but perfectly navigable

that said im well aware that as a 30 year old tall white male, im less likely than others to be targeted or having something unpleasant happen to me, so its not going to be the same for all.
Thursday 23 October 2014 3.42pm
Thanks for getting back to me, it's interesting that you say about the potential intimidation factor, although you yourself don't find it intimidating. Within crime statistics fear can play a large factor, with research proving that fear of crime doesn't correlate with actual crime levels.

This is great stuff thanks!
Wednesday 29 October 2014 4.54pm