Mint Street Park development (disgrace)

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Current: 1 of 6
Monday 8 June 2015 10.58pm
I'm a local resident and am horrified by the awful Mint Street works that have been completed by Conway and Southwark Council.

Nothing was followed through and the park looks nothing like it was supposed to in the plans. In fact, it looks awful.

There are many issues with park but an urgent one concerns the old loading bay area which is now a death trap with no wall or planting to protect small children from the dangerously busy traffic on Southwark bridge road.

From my understanding, 400,000 has been spent on this and yet it looks as if a lot of money had gone to waste on work that wasn't even approved!

If you feel the same or have any thoughts or suggestions, please do add to this thread. Thanks, C.
Tuesday 9 June 2015 1.23am
I completely agree and have also spoken to others who feel the same way, including some who work closely with the children in the adventure playground area adjacent. Continuing problems include:

1. Alcohol / drug abusers / rough sleepers (especially in warmer months) whose presence in the park, or whose dropped needles etc., sit uncomfortably with an area that is so populated by (very young) school kids every day. Why isn't the park sealed off and locked at night to prevent some of this problem and why aren't there notices, as i have seen in other local parks, warning people that abuse of alcohol will not be tolerated in this park ?

2. The redesign was supposed to make the park a greener place but it now seems to have even wider paths and still lacks sufficient benches, litter bins and dog poo bins. The new benches are also too low for some older and more infirm people.

3. The redesign works took far longer than they should have and the result is completely underwhelming. The council needs to account for itself !
Tuesday 9 June 2015 7.34am