Leroy St/OKR safety

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Tuesday 21 July 2015 9.53am

I'm looking for a flat to rent in central London and most flats that fit my budget are around the Bermondsay. I have checked the Tower Bridge Rd area with lots of shops, restaurants etc and it looks to me clean, decent, peaceful and safe (that was during the day, didn't check at. night) and I was rather happy to rent around the area.

I found a flat on Leroy st facing away from the roundabout but now I also found a cheaper flat along the OKR, but now I read a bit about the safety and it got me worried. Shooting, stabbing. I'm a female student in my final year so I will be coming home late at night from the library, it would take me about 15mins, how is the crime rate in that area? Safer on Leroy St or OKR? Will living near the roundabout be loud and highly polluted? Is there sth I should know before renting in the area?

Thank you very much for your help, we are moving for the first time to the UK.

Tuesday 21 July 2015 11.06am
You can check on here to find out the crime 'rating' for any area in London. Most of Southwark is 'average' but if you zoom in there are some areas near OKR 'above average'.

The majority of local residents will probably say they have never experienced or witnessed any problems, but if you are worried about safety based on what you've seen and read of the locality, no one can categorically reassure you that you will be safe - in any area of a large city.
Tuesday 21 July 2015 11.17am
Thank you and yes, you are right.

I have read a lot about community and blending to "belong". I've been always living in a more isolated areas with neighbours not interacting that much so I wonder if this might cause me problems? I'm definitely polite and friendly but it takes some time for me to open.
Tuesday 21 July 2015 2.39pm
Is it behind the doctors surgery area, I would live there.
Tuesday 21 July 2015 4.49pm