Southwark or Wandsworth

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Thursday 18 August 2016 9.57pm
Hi there,

Sorry if this in the wrong section!

I have just put an offer on a flat just off of Bermondsey Street, but also put an offer on a flat in Wandsworth Town. I'm new to London and will be working in Covent Garden. Are the connections good? I had a walk around Bermondsey Street and there seems to be a lot of restaurants but not sure about what else the area has to offer? Is it a friendly neighbourhood? I would love to be able to make friends around here but I have been told there isn't much to do.

Good coffee shops? Any good gyms?

Leaning towards Wandsworth Town at the moment.
Thursday 18 August 2016 11.38pm
Bermondsey Street. More ot less Southbank. Can't be bad. Friendly? As much or as little as you want it to be like anywhere really. Wandsworth Town not as safe as Southbank plus very convenient for covent Garden. Even buses go there apart from tube
Friday 19 August 2016 1.00am
I've been in an amazingly similar place as you olmoldn!

When I first came to London (10+ years ago) I moved to Shad Thames. Really enjoyed the area (and Bermondsey St was still just developing at the time), but thought I'd try out another area, so moved SW to Wandsworth Town. It's also a really good spot. Feels a little more suburban in some parts, and much more part of the Wandsworth "nappy valley" (pro/con depending on whether or not you have kids), but still lots going on as far as local pubs/restaurants. That said, I was working in Canary Wharf at the time and the commute killed me. Covent Garden would be better, but be warned that the slow train to Waterloo that stops at Wandsworth Town is PACKED during rush hour and I'd often wait for 2,3,4 trains before I could even get on. In the end I was taking the bus to Clapham Junction and catching the train from there.