Lambeth area? a good neighbourhood to live?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Saturday 20 July 2002 2.27pm
Hello fellow neighbours,

As a student i will move this septembre from the Netherlands to London SE1, Lambeth region (next to the Imperial War musuem).
Although i did some 'research' about this particular neighbourhood, i haven't got a good view on my future living spot.
What can i expect from this region as a student (with a student budget)? Tips and advice on neighbourhood shops, supermarkets, restaurants, etc. ? Any thoughts and experiences are welcome.

Thanx in advance,
Saturday 20 July 2002 8.40pm
Restaurants and student budgets are inherently incompatible. However, there is a nice cafe in Kenninton Lane and a shooping centre in Walworth.
Sunday 21 July 2002 5.12pm
I would suggest that you buy a book on on "London for free" - there are several on the market. You will be in a central area and the London Underground makes everywhere very accessable.If you look through the older messages on the forum there have been some really good suggestions for reasonably priced places to eat. Although London is an expensive city you can discover a lot just by walking around.Several of the wonderful museums are now free and the parks too are havens.Nevertheless I would suggest that you save up as much money as possible!! - Why not do further research on the internet just under "Lambeth"?- You really have a great experience ahead of you in September.
Sunday 21 July 2002 6.45pm
Thanx Barbara, i'll defnitely go after that book suggestion you gave. It seems that (Greater) Lambeth deals with quite a lot crime problems. What should i expect from this? is this also applicable on the neighbourhood i ll stay (hall of residence is situated on Lambeth Road next to Imperial War Museum).

Again thanx
Sunday 21 July 2002 8.35pm