Wanted - SE1 webdesigner for SE1 project

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Tuesday 26 April 2005 10.13am
All

I'm attempting to build a website to illustrate Bermondsey's history. I'm completely new to web design and realise that I need help. I use a Mac/OSX with Rapid Weaver and Freeway Express.

Would anyone be willing to give me some tutoring in return for photography tutoring?

Thanks in advance

Niall

PS James - I hope this passes the 'SE1 relevance' test.
Tuesday 26 April 2005 10.38pm
Might be able to help my email is michael@snowsfields.com
Thursday 5 May 2005 4.19pm
You could try and contact INTO. They are based at SE1 - Trinity Street and they offer free training and websites as part of the www.into.org.uk site. Contact Sheila or Shveta on 020 7378 5440 . They have helped me in the past and were really helpful
Tuesday 10 May 2005 2.10pm
Niall, you have a good head start as a web designer because (a) you already have the visual skills of a photographer, and (b) you seem to have a clear idea of what you want to achieve.

Your choice of development computer is excellent, but bear in mind that you will probably want to host your web site at an ISP on a different hardware platform running a different OS, and you need to be aware that things will appear formatted somewhat differently for users with Windows IE browsers than for Mac users. Basically, you need a chum with a Windows PC to verify that the site looks as good from his browser.

I am not a fan of the development software you propose to use and suggest that you look at Macromedia Dreamweaver MX2004, about 350, or about 100 for the student edition. You will need a copy of Photoshop Elements (free with your scanner). You should also think hard about whether you are going to have such a substantial photographic archive that it would be worth investigating an image database -- that would affect the choice of ISP and development software.