bermondsey street

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Tuesday 3 December 2002 11.27am
Hi all

I am an Architectural student studying for my diploma.

I have a design project located on Bermondsey Street

(The little bit of park on the corner of Tanner Street and Bermondsey street- I stress this is only an academic project NOT a real development)

The brief is to provide a new "work place" which also acts as a "gate" to the larger park (the two pieces of park being separated by Alan camp architects offices)

I was hoping that you guys might be able to give me a better insight in to the area.

What you like about Bermondsey Street?
Places you like on Bermondsey Street?
What you do there - live, work, play?
How you feel about Bermondsey Street and the park?
Why you live, work, play there?

Anything you can think of to give me a better understanding of the area.
I believe an architectural response should be sensitive to its locality, culturally and environmentally.

I would much appreciate any information you could provide.

Stuart
Anonymous User
Friday 6 December 2002 1.39pm
Stuart,

I'm a qualified architect living in the area.

I find it a little strange you have chosen a park to develop, even as a hypothetical scheme.

There are still many derelict / brownfield sites in the area, or under-used sites (garages between council blocks for example) that have potential, but there is actually relatively little open 'green' space.

Bermondsey Street is 'on its way' already - it's the blocks South of Long Lane where the development challenges lie.

The things that are woefully missing in the area are:

a 'normal' quality supermarket like Tesco Metro or Sainsbury's Local

a cinema - an art house style with a bar like the Ritzy in Brixton

a nice bar where you can get a bite to eat - e.g like All Bar One for e.g.

a nice place to have a cup of coffee and a pastry - even Starbucks would be a start!