Building work on Union Street on Sundays

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Tuesday 28 January 2003 11.48am
I live on Union Street and had to ring the Noise Pollution team last Sunday because the builders were working all day Sunday!! Not only are they working 5 days a week and Sat mornings but now it looks like Sundays too. The Noise team informed me after speaking to the builders that Southwark Council environmental health had given the builders permission to work on Sunday. The reason being that businesses on Union Street had requested that certain types of work not be carried out on weekdays. Seems like only businesses' and not residents' concerns count for the council because as a resident I had not been consulted or even notified about this. Is there anyone else living on Union Street or around that was notified of the council's intention to grant permission for building work on Sundays? If so when and how? Also has anyone got any suggestions about how to put a stop to this noise nuisance?
Tuesday 28 January 2003 6.30pm
I've had road works outside my flat every weekend for the last 2 months and although it has disturbed my beauty sleep (and god do I need it) I accept it as being part and parcel of living in the middle of a big city, not everyone works 9-5 monday to friday so why should building work restricted to those hours. To be honest we'd be better off if more building and roadworks were done out of normal office hours then maybe we wouldn't need a congestion charge.
Wednesday 29 January 2003 9.21am
Adele,