Congestion Charge ripping of locals

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Monday 17 February 2003 5.09pm
I am a resident within the zone. I have applied for the resident's discount (at a cost of 10 pounds). I work most week days in the year, but occasionally want to use the car one day in a week (such as today).

I phoned to pay my 50 pence charge for the day, but am told that, due to "administrative costs", I have to buy 5 consecutive days' permits. Clearly, I will not use the other 4 days' permits. So, instead of a 90% discount which I should have, I receive only a 50% discount. This is clearly wrong.

Why the minumum payment? Why do the days have to be consecutive? Are they trying to incentivise me to use my car 5 days a week rather than one? This seems perverse.

There must be many others in this position. Surely it should be possible to pay a minimum amount and use those days over the course of the year, rather than consecutively. It seems a cynical way to be extracting more money from local residents. Is there anything we can do about this?
dan
Tuesday 18 February 2003 2.43am
Hello Foxy

I had heard about this and as far as I know the reason for the minimum payment is as you say "administrative costs", I think that means that if you could buy a days car use for 50p it would cost more to administer than 50p but if you spend 10 then it covers the costs of registering you.

You are right, it might encourage you to use your car every day at the relatively cheap cost of 2 a day, or possibly you might reckon that it was only worth buying for one day and spending the full 5 because you think you won't use the other 6 days thereby saving you the other 5, you could also, spend the 10 and then drive up and down constantly getting maximum benefit from the 90% discount with a tannoy blaring "down with Ken" from the windows of your car, though I think that would be silly and I hope I have not incentivized you to do that.