Tabard Gardens

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  Previous1 2 3 4 Next
Current: 3 of 4
David White Friday 23 May 2003 11.22pm

Why's it boarded up anyway?
Raj Joshi (Josh) Saturday 24 May 2003 11.32am
They're redeveloping it.
Sarah O'Connell Tuesday 27 May 2003 8.51am
I found myself feeling a little sorry for Southwark. Probably cos I am a Lambeth resident and therefore jealous! There is a huge problem nationally with urban parks. They are not a statutory responsibility and so when Council budgets get squeezed - mainly by the ever expanding deemands of social services and education - parks budgets often go first. Also procurement requirements over the past 30 years has led Councils often having to take the lowest priced contractor, not necessarily the best. There is now a bit more flexibility, and an increasing recognition that like 'bobbies on the beat' people want to see park keepers in park, but by and large there has been a massive lost of experience and expertise in parks management.

The Government have also woken up to the fact that good quality urban parks are important, accessible and low-cost facilities, which t help improve areas more generally. Isolated mums can meet others in the playground. Pensioners, unemployed and more have somewhere to go, plus they are good places for informal and recreational sports. And so finally Governmewnt is taking an interest and money is being put in.