Proposal for new building on childrens play area and park off St Georges Rd

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Wednesday 6 September 2006 4.54pm
i am a resident on St Georges Road (corner of Gaywood Street) and was recently horrified at the proposal from the council to build a large appartment block on one of our last remaining green/recreational areas of SE1 which is now a basketball picth and park and is regularly used by children to play basket ball and football. your support and thoughts appreciated.

s
Thursday 7 September 2006 7.17am
You are KIDDING. Things are really getting out of hand. I'm shocked.
Thursday 7 September 2006 9.18am
There is some discussion of this matter in this thread:
http://www.london-se1.co.uk/forum/read/1/55542

Editor of the London SE1 website.
Subscribe to our SE1 Direct weekly newsletter.
Thursday 7 September 2006 7.59pm
The football & basketball pitches, huge playground and wide open space of the Imperial War Museum are hardly far away, now are they?

Loafer
Thursday 14 September 2006 10.14pm
Yes Loafer, I agree there is enough space to erect a number of tower blocks at the IWM especially if you include the park. It is not used as much as the playground on St Georges Road and therefore should be made available for development instead.
Friday 15 September 2006 6.58pm
Troll.
Saturday 16 September 2006 6.18pm
I am a resident in this area for many years and have seen this area grow. It functions well now because it is a small populated area. More residents would effect this, the parking facilities for instance are already stretched here. Although this is not my main concern it is a concern and always causes conflict. Children always congregate where they live and this is happening here. The area does not needed to be expanded it needs to be improved