What am I letting myself in for?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Monday 16 June 2003 6.58pm
Hi all

I'm a student about to move to a flat in Metro Central Heights at the Elephant, and I'm wondering what I'm letting myself in for?

The Elephant itself is certainly a change from the leafy streets of my family home, and the pricey streets of Fitzrovia where my hall was! My impressions of the place are that there is definitely a slight edgy feel to the area, though there's also the feeling that if you're sensible it's perfectly safe. The proposed again and again regeneration of the area will certainly be interesting to me, being an Urban Planning, Design and Management student!

And I know Metro Central is hardly what you'd call student accommodation. but hey we negotiated a good price and the transport links are all in place. Seems like compact yet comfortable living.

Well, that's myself introduced! If anyone would like to offer any tips or share experiences, I'd be delighted.

Expect to see more of me on these boards!
Wednesday 18 June 2003 11.09am
Welcome to Elephant.
Unless you plan on being a long term resident, I doubt that you will see much of the regeneration. If anything much happens on the ground in the next couple of years I'll be surprised. Of course you may experience the building work planned for the Metro Central carpark!

As for 'edgy' - it's not leafy suburbia, but then probably no worse than the centre of any city. There are always plenty of people about - as its a big bus hub and operates 24 hours (e.g. early am Ministry of Sound)

Steve
Wednesday 18 June 2003 12.57pm
I had worried about that planned extra Metro Central block! Though I think we will be facing west so won't be so bad.
Monday 23 June 2003 12.51pm
Tom,