Old Kent Road SE1

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 Next
Current: 1 of 3
Wednesday 3 January 2007 1.46pm
I am a young professional and have recently moved to London from Ireland, I am looking for a flat to buy. I had a look at Old Kent Rd, it seems nice and not over priced. I have heard that its not the nicest place but can anyone give me any information at all on the area? Anything would be greatly appreciated as a safe place to live is top of the list for me.
Thank you very much in advance.
Wednesday 3 January 2007 3.15pm
This story is a good overview:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/comment/story/0,3604,1451483,00.html

In answer to your question, I would feel perfectly happy living on the OKR, but you obviously need to take precautions. Some people will tell you that the OKR is 'notorious' and there are occasional shootings, but, in my view, this is part of living in an exciting part of a world city.

Have you thought about renting for a few months before taking the plunge and buying?

The Tesco OKR re-development proposal, if it gets the go ahead, and the Cross-River Tram, if it takes the route through Burgess Park, are both likely to have a positive impact on values.

If you send me a Private Message with an idea of your budget, I may be able to help more.

Chris
Wednesday 3 January 2007 4.34pm
i live just off OKR, behind Tesco, and i think it's great!
Lots of buses for quick transport into central London (and tube at Elephant and Castle), a quick easy walk to SE1 central london places like Tower Bridge, Borough High st, London Bridge, Waterloo etc.

Great!

and nice friendly people on this forum too.
Wednesday 3 January 2007 6.12pm
it's still cheap, which is rare these days near zone 1...
Thursday 4 January 2007 11.22am
I live on the Old Kent Rd and have never had any problems. The shootings are not at randem strangers, and are usually linked, as most shootings are. That's not meant to say they are not bad!