Help with work in SE1

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Sunday 28 January 2007 4.45pm
Hi all, this may not be an appropriate message-I'm sure james will advise-but my partner has just moved to Southwark (to live with me)from Nottingham. He had to give up his previous bread and butter job as a library porter at Nottingham University when he took an opportunity to undertake a 3 month photographic trip in Pakistan at the end of 2006. Having done this and now having moved to London he needs another bread and butter job while he writes up his travels. He's also tried for loads of freelance and other photographic jobs but not got any replies.
He's looking for work but so far places like Tesco, Currys etc have nothing round here. Anyone got any advice for a 45 year old man self taught in digital photography, Mac operation, Adobe photoshop but who is also an excellent handyman, experienced in customer front line work etc? He's afraid his age and lack of formal qualifications are proving a problem but he has a good cv. He seems to be over-experienced and under-qualified!
Advice welcome-this is not an advert, I just thought i'd ask around for any searching tips around SE1 and any pointers.
Sunday 28 January 2007 5.20pm
This website allows searches by area and keywords - and pops up quite often if you Google for keywords like "se1 jobs sales tesco" etc...
Monday 29 January 2007 9.10am
Java, there was a southwark employment agency just past westmoreland road, on the right side coming from the elephant, there may be something there just to keep him ticking over? I am sure he will find something with his skills..if i find it later i will pm you, but someone here may know what the phone number is. If he does go there take i.d. number etc.
Monday 29 January 2007 12.21pm
Try looking for Southwark Works on the website