Borough Market in the Washington Post

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 4 Next
Current: 1 of 4
Sunday 1 April 2007 11.07pm
[url=http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/03/30/AR2007033000835_3.html][/url]
Monday 2 April 2007 7.36am
I was there around the middle of the day on Saturday it was jammed to the roof and horrendous...couldnt get near the stalls and it was, alas, not the experience we knew and loved before the people watchers arrived.
Monday 2 April 2007 9.03am
Indeed. Although I am pretty new to living in SE1, I have been coming to Borough Market for many years. It seems to have become overwhelmingly popular, and there are always lots of people there who don't seem to have any intention of buying anything, but regard it simply as a tourist attraction to be combined with, say, Shakespeare's Globe and Tate Modern and the Imperial War Museum. The write-up in the Post says plenty about produce (and what it costs), but I can't say I'm necessarily thrilled at the idea of the market becoming a sort of organic version of the magnificent tourist trap that is Fortnum & Mason.
Monday 2 April 2007 11.23am