Councillor Stanton's Failure at Potter's Field

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ...LastNext
Current: 1 of 16
Thursday 24 May 2007 4.05pm
I am a resident of Tooley Street who made the mistake of voting for the Liberal Democrats and Nick Stanton, Eliza Mann and Paul Baichoo at the 2006 election. As a former Labour supporter I thought our “Leader” Nick Stanton would be more involved in key local issues like stopping the Berkeley Homes horrendous residential development of Potter's Field, most of which is owned by the people of Southwark like myself. I have been keeping an eye on this development since I saw those anti Berkeley homes protestors and after 4 years of empty rhetoric from Councillor Stanton about finding a cultural user for Potter's Field we are no further forward.

Who is going to win the battle over Potter's Field? Berkeley Homes and their owner Tony Pidgley (who is bankrolling the Mayor's property developments around London so Berkeley Homes gets the rights to the surrounding residential developments)??? or our lightweight “Leader” Mr Nicholas Stanton? NO CONTEST! Waste of a vote.
Thursday 24 May 2007 6.57pm
Oh GOODNESS david2000, how right you are. I could WEEP for the way that Tony Pidgely has ridden roughshod over everyone and everything.It is just massive corporate greed which supercedes anything in our day and age.
Friday 25 May 2007 9.03am
In the words of Gordon Gekko:

"The point is, ladies and gentleman, that greed -- for lack of a better word -- is good.

Greed is right.

Greed works.

Greed clarifies, cuts through, and captures the essence of the evolutionary spirit.

Greed, in all of its forms - greed for life, for money, for love, knowledge - has marked the upward surge of mankind."

Without greed, we would still be living in caves.
Friday 25 May 2007 1.24pm
surely the councillor's responsibility is to the local community? not to service the greed of berkeley homes... it infuriates me
KM