Night time economy in SE1

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Sunday 4 November 2007 7.05pm
This is for all the people who are in some way or the other way associated to London's South Bank.
I am an Urban Design Student doing my research on understanding the possibilities for boosting the Night Life on London's South Bank.

It would be great if I receive feedback on this topic ,as in what forms would you like to have Night Life ,where ,if at all in the context of London's South Bank .
It is about extending the Retial, Entertainment, Leisure from West End onto the South Bank till late ,making sure that we have the same vitality that we see today at Piccadily Circus or Leicester Square.

Many Thanks,

Krunal Shah,
M.A.Urban Design,
the University of Greenwich
krunsh@rediffmail.com
Sunday 4 November 2007 7.12pm
God forbid it ever looks like Leicester Square! It's vital enough thanks, take thy clipboard and be damned!
Sunday 4 November 2007 10.56pm
If you've walked along the Southbank at night from the festivl hall along to Tate modern I think its pretty lively and vital! The challenge is extending that southwards.
Sunday 4 November 2007 11.15pm
London does not need the atmosphere of Leicester Square recreated elsewhere - drunken and lary out-of-towners screeching and starting fights. Piccadilly Circus is just a busy and bright junction, no real night time activity of any real worth going on there.

As a former urban planning student I suggest finding something more desirable to extend to the South Bank! As other posters have said, it already has its own vibe and is popular. Personally I'd like to see a couple of the least charming pubs replaced with something else and perhaps the shops at Gabriel's Whard and OXO staying open later into the evening, and maybe cafes or food outlets that are less formal and expensive than restaurants, without being pubs.
Monday 5 November 2007 9.31am