Refurbishing a listed flat?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Monday 5 November 2007 12.29pm
Hey all,

My wife and I have just moved into a small antiquated (1980s) flat in a listed building, and it really needs gutting. We're hoping to open up some load-bearing walls too.

Has anyone had any experience of this and the Southwark planning office?
Any recommendations of local structural engineers / architects that could give us a hand with the whole listed building consent / freeholder permission / building regs?

At a bit of a loss about where to start!

Monday 5 November 2007 1.45pm
I have no direct experience of this, but you could start with a look at Even if you don't want to use their services it may help you understand some of the processes.
Monday 5 November 2007 3.55pm
what status is the listing - it can affect whether it is just the external envelope (walls & roof) appearance or if it also includes internal walls.

unless the internal walls are definietly not load bearing i'd recommend an architect/engineer look at it for you and let them sort out the listed building side of things while they are at it
Monday 5 November 2007 4.12pm
check out English Heritage's guide for owners

regardless of the grade of listing, LB consent is needed for alterations to any fitment that is contemporary with the original building or pre-dates 1948, whichever is the later. This includes ceilings, internal doors, windows, floors, fireplaces...
Monday 5 November 2007 4.20pm