WHY there is nothing to eat in SE1 late

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Friday 11 January 2008 2.09am
I just don't understand. America has realised that someone can be hungry any time of day or night. Why haven't we? Especially in our capital city? SE1 being particularly bad for this. I live on Great Dover Street (you guessed it, I'm a student,) and I sleep whenever I'm tired. Why no one has thought to put a cheap eats open into the early morning across the street from 1300 students I will never understand. Once they can't sell booze, everywhere closes. Can someone shed some light on this for me (and bring me a large pepperoni feast while you're at it?)
Friday 11 January 2008 8.41am
no doubt a plug for such an establishment will follow this request....or have I just got too cyncial about this forum these days !
Friday 11 January 2008 9.35am
Most of the supermarkets and many of the convenience stores in SE1 are open 24 hr now. Although you'd have to go to the trouble of cooking the pizza yourself...
Friday 11 January 2008 11.14am
Selling hot food through the night requires a licence, which the council would be unwilling to grant to an outlet in a residential area due to potential noise, smells, litter and antisocial behaviour.

If you really need late night junk food, the McDonalds on Old Kent Road is open 24 hours.
Friday 11 January 2008 11.27am
Do you have a fridge?
Friday 11 January 2008 12.42pm
bartholomew street, pizza place just around corner from you. how late are you thinking?
Friday 11 January 2008 11.45pm
I'm sorry, were you ever in the US? or an American in Spain? Just back from Seattle myself, late dining 6.30. Valencia, nothing open, including tapas, before 9.30..

get real
Saturday 12 January 2008 1.09pm
diogenes3, no need to be rude. Mrritch was probably referring to NYC, but again, NYC is not America.