Fun pub or gastropub near Southwark/Waterloo/Borough?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
ari
Friday 1 February 2008 8.06pm
Hi- I am new to SE1 (living in Southwark near The Cut) and to London as well.

Looking for a nice pub or gastro-pub for a few drinks and possibly dinner on a saturday night with my sister....nothing too ultra-pricey though. We'd like some atmosphere but not so its so noisy you can't hear each other.

I know there are tons of reviews and threads on restaurants here, but I dont even know where to begin as being new to London, I have never heard of any of them... thanks!
jw
Friday 1 February 2008 11.22pm
I don't think you can beat The Anchor & Hope on The Cut for brilliant food and good lively atmosphere
Saturday 2 February 2008 9.42am
Welcome to SE1, Ari.

Agree re the Anchor and Hope, but it can be more than a bit difficult to get in to because it doesn't take reservations (at least, it didn't last time I checked) and it's always full of tourists (by which I mean anyone who's not from round here, of course).

Slightly off topic, but The Crown on Blackfriar's Bridge Road (no connection, etc) fits your bill fairly well, but is of little use to you in this case because, like many places around here, it doesn't open at the weekend (Grrr).
ari
Saturday 2 February 2008 12.28pm
Really? I don't understand why places don't open on the weekend here!!

Thanks I may just try my luck with Anchor and Hope. We were wanting to have a few drinks first anyhow so I don't mind waiting for a table.

If anyone can think of any other places not crowded with tourists please let me know. I was recommended The Woolpack (Bermondsey St) but I really wanted somewhere closer to Southwark
Saturday 2 February 2008 4.16pm
I like the Horse and Walrus near Lambeth North, I know that the Horse isn't open at the weekends - at least it wasn't last time I wanted to go.
jw
Saturday 2 February 2008 4.16pm
Hi Ari,