Looking for a Cozy Coffee Shop

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Sunday 12 October 2008 10.19pm
I just moved into the area (right near Tower Bridge Road and Tooley Street) and I was looking for a good comfy coffee shop to go read. I'm a PhD student, so my day pretty much consists of reading books, drinking coffee, and sitting around thinking; now I just need a place to do it. Every college town in the US has a bunch of places named "The Daily Grind" or "Common Grounds", etc. and I am hoping that there is one near where I live. I am just looking for a place with beatup, overstuffed chairs where you can get a good coffee and read your book all afternoon. Starbucks is expensive (and terrible) so I am hoping there is a place around here.

Thanks
Monday 13 October 2008 1.18am
How about coffee@tower bridge road? I used to study there all the time last year and never got chased out once.
Monday 13 October 2008 10.55am
Not a huge fan of that coffee@towerbridgeroad personally - feels like an old school classroom: but each ot their own. Its been a few years since I was a student so I might just be out of touch. Best in the neighbourhood in my view is SOBO further up Tower Bridge Road - a very cool and local vibe. For a fifferent feel I also like the cafe in Tower Bridge Plaza which does great mugs of tea and toast. It has great seting outside if its sunny.
Monday 13 October 2008 7.10pm
What about coffe@Bermondsey Street? It's not too far from Tower Bridge Road and Tooley Street, got leather sofas and a very laid back attitude. Coffee's not bad, either.
Tuesday 14 October 2008 8.49am
All these places sound interesting. Where exactly is the place on Bermondsey Street and where is the Coffee at Tower Bridge Road? I checked out the SOBO...it was nice, but very hip/too cool for me.
Tuesday 14 October 2008 10.44am