Scams

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
chalkey Monday 11 October 2010 5.05pm
I'm now seriously beginning to wonder if it is purely coincidence that every time I log-on to a website I've never used before, I get a spate of scam e-mails. Most of them inform me that I have come in to an unexpected large amount of money and they need my bank details in order to credit my account. Yeah, right.
There have been others offering me a commission if I allow a large sum of money to be paid to my account. 90 percent of it I should forward to that person's brother, who is in England and has lost all his money, cards etc. I can then keep the other ten per cent for my trouble. Again, of course, they need my bank details for this operation.
I recieved one today suposedly from Barclays Bank PLC, informing me that there had been some suspicious activity on my internet account and they had frozen it as a precaution against fraud. In order to reactivate it, I had to complete the online questionaire. Which, if I'd bothered to look at it, would have no doubt asked for my pesonal data. It was all very believable except for one minor detail. I don't have, and never have had, an account with Barclays; internet or otherwise.