petrol and diesel prices

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Saturday 1 January 2011 6.21pm
Many moons ago I worked as a costings clerk in a small company...the Boss was worried about the increase in prices of fuel....possibly 1969/71...the petrol was 6/6 per gallon and diesel was 4/4 per.gall. for the youngsters thats 32 new p. approx and 21 new p.approximately..

So at todays prices how much would that translate to in litres and accounting for inflation? ( I know there are loads of clever bods here who are just dying to satisfy the curiosity of an old biddy!)lol
Sunday 2 January 2011 11.34am
Well, Jan. If my very rough and amateurish calculations are correct, then the answer has surprised me. I'm sure there's a more accurate and less cack-handed way of doing this, but I've worked out that a gallon of petrol in 1969/70, based on your figures, was aprox. 1/60th of my weekly wage at that time. The average petrol price which, after the increases in this coming week will be around 1.29 per litre, (roughly 5.85 per gallon,) would represent 1/76th of today's average weekly wage of 450. So, thinking in straight, black and white lines, we were actually worse off at the pumps forty years ago than we are now.
I stand to be corrected.
Sunday 2 January 2011 12.01pm
I've had another little doodle. (They can't touch you for it.)
Working on the assumption that my first house bought in 1969 was an average price, then the cost of it, (5,700,) could have bought me 17,538 gallons of petrol back then. Whereas, today's average house price, (163,000) could be converted in to 27,860 gallons at current petrol prices.
As Rob Brydon would say, "Just a bit of fun."
Sunday 2 January 2011 9.08pm
Wow Chalkey, I am amazed! I thought my ramblings would produce figures that would show we are being ripped off!...speaking of cost whilst at school one of our teachers told us that rent or mortgage should be 7% of ones income.....