Your personal welcome to London

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Friday 29 March 2013 12.56am
I will never forget mine: I was a PhD student in 1999. I was going to be in London for 3 years and then wanted to go back to my native Berlin (I have of course since acquired an English husband, job, children, family and more and never left). First night in London: I spoke about 250 words of English and got dragged to the pub, my English colleagues told me you must go to the bar and buy a round. They all wanted bombardier. I went to the bar and ordered said bombardiers and an old man perched on a bar stool asked me “You talk funny, where you from, love?” I said Germany and he said “Oh that’s bad, but at least you are not French” I often think of that. How were you welcomed?
Friday 29 March 2013 11.24am
Great story Katia! - hope to see you soon, it's been a while.
Friday 29 March 2013 2.09pm
Katia, Kann ich fünf Artilleristen, bitte?
That probably reminded the elderly gentleman of WW11, although I have no doubt that you asked for five, or however many Bombardiers, in slightly accented English.
I've never understood the apparent animosity toward the French though.
As far as I am concerned they are no better or worse than Germans, Italians, Spaniards, or any other nationality for that matter.
I am a little biased though, Ich have zwei deutsche Enkeln, halb deutsche sowieso!
Friday 5 April 2013 11.05am
Yes Tom, I did wonder if everyone would have just ordered a pint of lager if it hadn't been me getting the round. I just found it all pretty funny. The old boy came up with a few jokes that are truly unprintable afterwards, but none as funny as his first line. Wars aside I think some of the English-German animosity comes from the fact that we are quite similar really so we can always spot our best and worst in each other.

It has been a while, BSB, the baby I had with me when we last met is 5 years old now!
Friday 5 April 2013 3.49pm
Hi Katia,