Not a dilemma as such...

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 4 Next
Current: 1 of 4
Wednesday 18 February 2004 10.25am
I was talking with my girlfriend the other day about how your perception of what is 'a lot of money' must change dependent on your earnings, background etc.

I've been earning for 6 years now, and I know that in the 'real world', 50 doesn't buy you much. However, I still think of 50 as a fair old amount.

I'd be interested to know what anyone thinks is 'a lot of money'...
Wednesday 18 February 2004 11.01am
50 of my own money doesn't seem a lot James, I agree with you. But if you were to give me the 50 in your pocket, then it'd be a great windfall.

I always think of the "how much do you take out of the cashpoint test" as a measure of how your attitude to cash changes. Over the years, I'm sure the amount I take out has grown at a rate well over inflation.

[could be all the cat food]

...there's plenty more c**** in the cup.
Wednesday 18 February 2004 12.12pm

50 is small change to me - the tip I would give a cocktail waiter or a taxi driver.

I am a bit concerned about this thread actually - I thought that I was mixing (albeit electronically) with a classier group of people...
Wednesday 18 February 2004 12.15pm
redbus - you skinflint!!!

Wednesday 18 February 2004 12.30pm
Everything's relative,
I was left a legacy a few years ago, not a great sum but I felt an enormous burden of responsibiity as to how I should spend it. I was also deeply aware that this represented somebody elses savings and would have been hard earned. Had it been my own money, I would probably have frittered it away (as usual).
Wednesday 18 February 2004 3.24pm

50 doesn't buy much cheese from Neal's Yard (so I am told by my batman who I send regularly to buy their excellent Stilton by the truckle)
Wednesday 18 February 2004 8.48pm