Email Servers

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Wednesday 25 August 2004 8.50am
Help.

I am trying to set up an email account for a community group. It needs to be as cheap as possible, but be able to accept a reasonable volume of material eg pictures and scanned documents without running out of space. Ideally there would be scope to put up a web site.

Whilst I am asking, is there anyone who could help create a web page. I have text and pictures but have no idea what to do next.

Wednesday 25 August 2004 11.40am
Hello,

I know just the person who could help you with your community group webpage. I have emailed him your post, so he should be in touch with you. Out of interest what is the aim of the web site going to be?

Glen

Wednesday 25 August 2004 1.37pm
Hello,

Glen just told me about your post; I'm a freelance web designer, and if this is a community group which I support, I'd be more then happy to lend you a hand setting this up on voluntary basis. Email me at michael@snowsfields.com with some more details.

Cheers,
Micky
Tuesday 14 September 2004 1.10pm
Sarah,

Yahoo! e-mail accounts are free and now come with 100mb of space - that is plenty for anyone. In addition, it has a connected 'Briefcase' (storage area) which offers another 30mb. That's loads.

Yahoo can also offer you a web-page - through their GeoCities service. It's a bit limited in terms of what you can do, but it has full tutorials. And it will put ads on your web page.

What I did when I started tinkering with web stuff is bought a book on web design using FrontPage Express (which is usually free with your PC). The book was only about a tenner - it had lots of colourful pictures in it (I was a beginner - I appreciated those things!) but it had me building and uploading whole sites in hours.

Simple and cheap tools do a good job if you're a bit artistic in using them. These consultant types will do a quick job, but it won't be cheap.

I'll post more advice here if you like...