Hot buttered rum...

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 Next
Current: 1 of 3
Thursday 11 November 2004 2.15pm
Ok, this is technically cider related - but of wider application, so I thought it deserved its own thread.

I was discussing the difficulties of catering for people working outside in the winter - sandwiches don't really give you that warm glow and things like stews or anything you need a knife and fork for are out.

Mum had some good ideas (having run a farm for 23 years), none of which I have time to put into action, I'm afraid, but she was very clear that the most vital thing to have lots of, buttered, rum.

Has anyone ever made some ? What it is like ? Will it be a good alternative to cider ?

What other hot, semi-alcoholic drinks can people recommend to keep out the cold (any mums / dads who spend every weekend watching their children run round a muddy field) ?

As a student, I watched the Melrose Sevens in -8C temperatures (colder when you took the wind into account) and I can vouch for the effectiveness of lots of Baileys and whiskey in black coffee, but I'd prefer to be sober enough to stand by the end of the day.

Thursday 11 November 2004 2.28pm
Ox-tail and guiness soup?

edited to change the falvour and spelling

Edited 1 times. Last edit at 11 November 2004 2.29pm by JonR.
Thursday 11 November 2004 2.45pm
Hot buttered rum is a fine drink (although I never really got the point of the added butter unless you were supposed to imagine that you were so low on energy that it was absolutely necessary to put butter in your nice drink).

Sort of a rum version of hot whisky and lemon (only without the whisky, or the lemon, and with rum and butter instead).

...if you press it, they will come.
Thursday 11 November 2004 3.19pm