store cupboard/cheap recipes

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 3 4 Next
Current: 1 of 4
Tuesday 30 September 2008 8.45am
Has anyone any cheap recipes for us to try? any ideas at all ? my daughter in derby has just e-mailed me for a recipe that cost pennies and i could not remember, marrow , cheese, tomatoes were in it..

from the soon to be reduntant one!
Tuesday 30 September 2008 11.08am
The bbc website has a section where you can type in the ingredients that you have, and it'll find a recipe for you, can't quite remember the exact url for it though.
Tuesday 30 September 2008 11.34am
The BBC website also has a section on cheap eats.

I remember when I was a student eating lots of rice dishes (simply frying the rice in some oil before adding a stock cube and any veggies / meat that I had hanging around), and using beans and pulses - bean stew was a favourite. Some fish, such as mackerel, is very cheap.

Shopping cheaply makes all the difference. If you go to East St market towards the end of the day you should be able to find produce being sold off cheaply.
Tuesday 30 September 2008 12.02pm
I love google!

"Poor Cook" is brilliant and I've had mine for thirty years! It's never failed.
Tuesday 30 September 2008 2.38pm
Jan, this is a lovely site:

I find a lot of inspiration here.
Wednesday 1 October 2008 4.36pm
Maurits, that site is great and the girls here were logging in too!

Jaybee richard mabey food for free is a favourite of mine . I had a old delia book which gave recipes for the financially embarassed lent it to someone, same old story no book now!
Wednesday 1 October 2008 9.51pm