Conveyancing solicitor experienced with live/work unit purchase - change of status?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Tuesday 22 March 2011 8.25pm
Hi,

We're just about to buy a live/work unit in London, on the basis that its status will be changed with the council to being fully residential.

As this is a bit of a niche area, we wanted a solicitor who was experienced with this sort of thing - didn't have much luck Googling.

Does anyone have a recommendation?
Thursday 7 April 2011 3.30pm
As a former property solicitor I can reassure you that in the right hands this process is all very straightforward. The key is in getting the right solicitor. A couple of simple pointers might assist:

1. If the estate agents recommend someone find out if the lawyers are paying a referral fee. If so, ignore. The agents won't have a clue about the intricacies so any recommendation will be pointless for something a little more complex.

2. Expect to pay a little more thn average. It will be money well spent. Budget around 850 plus VAT depending on the property value.

3. Call the Law Society for some help.

I could recommend someone I used to work with but I don't want this to look like I am plying for trade on his behalf (I'm no longer connected with the firm). If you want details let me know. If not just stick to those basic principles above and you should be okay in the absence of a direct recommendation from someone other than a spikey haired estate agent.
Sunday 17 April 2011 8.51pm
Hi again - thanks for your reply.

We have now found a great solicitor! However...

Our attempt to purchase a live/work unit is continuing, slowly. With the info from this thread and some further research, we asked the vendors to organise a certificate of lawfulness, which they initially agreed to.