Managing agent 'Admin' fees

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Tuesday 9 August 2005 2.25pm
Hi there
Many of you on the formum know where I live and also know that the service charges in our building are quite high.
I personally pay 242 a month to Peverel and whilst lots of things about our building are good, other things are BAD and I consider that service charge to be disproportionate to the service we actually receive.
I recently got a kitten who just lives in my flat and is pretty well behaved and, in fact, utterly adorable. she doesnt disturb anyone and my neighbours are rarely in anyway.
In the interests of being a good resident I notified Peverel after someone told me I should.
I was then sent a form to fill in with my details and a request for 41.13 'administration fee'.
Considering I already shell out nearly 250 a month I am pretty flabbergasted about the bare faced cheek of this!
As far as I can tell they just have to file the form, yet want to charge me 41 for the privilege!!!!!
I complained about this and was told by the regional manager of Peverel, 'most things in life' incur an admin charge.Anyway, just wondered what you guys think and if anyone else has experienced this sort of thing?

Tuesday 9 August 2005 3.00pm
I think this kind of thing is quite common. Check the terms of your lease. If it says pets subject to further admin charge of 35 + VAT (41.13) then pay it if you want to keep your kitten (make mental note to read lease next time!), perhaps then claim it back from your solicitor as he should have pointed out the additional charge to you before exchange. If there is no mention in the lease about a charge then you could choose to ignore them or query the charge. These spurious charges are always negotiable, down to zero in many cases IMO.
Good luck
Tuesday 9 August 2005 3.10pm
Hi