Hi all, if you have a sec I need some advice on the area as I would like to move here :)

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Tuesday 5 August 2008 4.56pm
Hi there,

I am looking to move to the area (London Bridge or Bermonsdey area) in October and I really don't know the area at all - can anyone help????

Am looking for a nice place, safe, comformatable, a little bit stylish - ideally to share with fun new peeps.

I am a 28yo professional, working in Advertisng and have a new job in Canary Wharf (not sure the two things go together, but anyho).

Am looking to pay anything from 600 - 750 pcm ex bills

Would ideally like a really fun place, perhaps a loft conversion, want to be able to come home an chillout, but also not be too far from nice local places for a brew?

I don't know the area at all- can anyone suggest nice places that are safe and interesting to live (i.e roads).

Or indeed does anyone need a new flatmate?

Would be really greatful for any advice on the area?

Seems like lots of people think highly of it though:)

Thanks all for your time!

Andrew
Thursday 7 August 2008 8.30am
I know SE16 better than SE1 from a residential point of view, here's the situation.

Find Bermondsey tube station on a map. This is handy since it's on the right line for Canary Wharf, without having to deal with the scrum at London Bridge.

North-West of that point is posh, broadly "Shad Thames", in a fairly good way, but expensive. If you want a classic warehouse conversion and are prepared to up your budget a bit, this is the place to be.

South and South-East of that point is fairly unpleasant up to the shopping centre, but much more affordable. I live here, but then I grew up in Yorkshire so it comes as no shock to me :)