London SE1 website team

SE1 lorry collision victims remembered at City Hall vigil

Six cyclists and pedestrians who have died on the streets of SE1 in the last five years were among those remembered at a vigil outside City Hall on Friday evening.

SE1 lorry collision victims remembered at City Hall vigil
Darren Johnson
Darren Johnson AM, chair of the London Assembly, attended the vigil

Friday's vigil was attended by London Assembly chair Darren Johnson AM and Val Shawcross AM who chairs City Hall's transport committee. Members of Southwark Living Streets were also present, as well as independent Southwark councillor Stephen Govier.

The vigil was called in response to the death of cyclist Philippine de Gerin-Ricard in Aldgate last Friday, and a yet to be named pedestrian in Fulham on Monday, who were killed in collisions with lorries.

The See Me Save Me campaign is dedicated to reducing lorry danger and saving lives, and calls for the elimination of the blind spot through the use of HGV safety technologies such as sensors and cameras.

It also highlights other measures that are being implemented to prevent collisions between lorries and cyclists and pedestrians, as well as supporting bereaved families and those seriously injured by lorries in navigating the justice system.

The roll-call of victims of road traffic collisions involving lorries which was read out at the vigil included the following people who died on the streets of SE1:

Hichame Bouadimi, killed in St George's Road in 2012
Ellie Carey, killed in Tower Bridge Road in 2011
David Poblet, killed in Tanner Street in 2011
Professor David Vilaseca, killed in Druid Street in 2010
Haris Ahmed, killed in Weston Street in 2010
Meryem Ozekman, killed at Elephant & Castle in 2009

The vigil was co-ordinated by RoadPeace, the national charity for road crash victims, and supported by British Cycling, CTC, Living Streets and the London Cycling Campaign.

The SE1 website is supported by people like you

This article on a map


Keep up with SE1 news

We have three email newsletters for you to choose from:

Proud to belong to

Independent Community News Network