Reviews of The Laughing Gravy

Blackfriars Road, London SE1

ABYSMAL

Posted by Wolffi on Thursday 21 November 2013

The service and food was abysmal when I visited. Could not get any worse. Crying shame really. Plenty of better restaurants to choose from.

EXCELLENT!

Posted by SE1dave on Tuesday 22 October 2013

Went for dinner with 2 friends last Friday as it had been several months since we had eaten here. Although it was very busy, there was a great vibe and the staff were really friendly and efficient. We did not feel rushed as you can in some places on a busy evening. We were genuinely spoilt for choice with the menu which was creative and seasonal ,though the descriptions of the dishes were so tempting I did wonder if the food itself would deliver. I am pleased to say it certainly did! All 3 of us chose different food over 3 courses and all were excellent. (I know cos I tried them all!) The wine list is interesting too and offers something for everyone. All round a very enjoyable evening. We will be back again very soon!

Crap Service , Food Hit and miss.

Posted by Wolffi on Saturday 28 September 2013

The service at The Laughing Gravy has really gone down hill. Sunday lunch seems to be staffed by a gang of hungover students who do not really know what they are doing.

Waited 45 minutes for the wrong dish which was served with an extremely lame excuse. The lamb dish that eventually turned up was raw and inedible.

Over priced for the level of service and poor standard of food.

TRY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!

Still Laughing

Posted by Sue-Borough on Monday 12 November 2012

Was searching for somewhere to meet friends and eat in the Waterloo/Blackfriars area on Saturday night and came across the Laughing Gravy.
What a find! We met at 6.30 and had good cocktails in the bar before going to our seat. The tables are well placed and aside from an initial wobbly chair very comfortable.
The menu was really interesting and we all had difficulty choosing. I could have had every one of the starters and chose pate artfully disguised as large cherries. Just scrumptious. Hubby had the belly pork with black pudding and I was so tempted to mug him for it! for main courses one of our friends chose the burger which he thought was the best he had eaten in years. I had trout with risotto. We shared a pudding of milk jam (only because we wanted to know what it was). There wasn't a disappointment or critiscim of any of the eight dishes we had and we left with about £20 change out of £200 having had two good bottles of wine and the aforementioned pre-dinner drinks.
The waiting and bar team were incredibly efficient and friendly. There was a stern warning on the web that having booked a 7 pm table we had to give it back pronto at I think 9 but it wasn't til 10pm that we were politely approached and asked if we would mind moving to the bar.
A great find and I will be back. I want that belly pork!

glorious!

Posted by daisysteiner22 on Sunday 6 March 2011

only just got back, so still a touch tipsy for a sunday afternoon, but really wanted to let people know how lovely sunday lunch at The Laughing Gravy was.

amazing roast (in quality and quantity - very important!), great service, wonderful atmosphere, free papers, and a surprising dessert option which went down almost too well.

i feel exactly how i should feel on a sunday - relaxed & happy, a bit too full, and ready for a sleep :O) Hooray!!

Will definitely be back! absolutely no connection other than wanting local businesses to do well.
xx

Nice!

Posted by Tattie on Tuesday 7 September 2010

Went there yesterday with a few friends. Food was good, service attentive. The menu is not too long, with a good selection.

Ceertainly a very welcome addition to the neigbourhood and a place I will be going to again.

Manhattan neighbourhood comes to SE1!

Posted by mac on Monday 23 August 2010

Mr Mac and I ate here on Saturday night (posted some comments on the discussion thread). The place has been very nicely refurbished and it reminded us of one of those neighbourhood restaurants you find in Manhattan. It has retained its former separation between a chilled-out, relaxing bar and a more formal dining area. We had the lamb and steak, both delicious. In fact, Mr Mac has been here twice before and assures me the hamburgers are also delicious. Extensive and reasonably priced wine menu, I particluarly liked the Australian Cabernet though Mr Mac prefered the organic Cabinet Shiraz blend (a whole bottles worth!). All in all a great addition to SE1.

A great find on our doorstep!

Posted by PeterB on Sunday 22 August 2010

Posted this yesterday on the forum... Didn't realise there was a proper review section:

First off... Hello SE1forum peeps... We've recently moved to the area (elephant) and were told that this (forum) is a great source for all things local.

Two weeks in and we discovered The Laughing Gravy... And what a find it is. We thought that it would have to be a trip into the centre of town to find such a great place.... Nope... It's on our doorstep (kind of - a 10min walk)!

To keep it short... Great hosts/staff... And the food is second to none... An amazing find in SE1... And happy to start calling it 'our local'.

Peter.

Still a very pleasant venue

Posted by La Martinet on Wednesday 18 October 2006

Laughing Gravy, having suffered a downturn when new owners took it over earlier this year, is now back to its best.

Having tried to turn it into something it was so obviously never going to be, it has reverted to a good chill-out venue with more than decent food at very reasonable prices. I believe the long-term manager, Grant, was responsible for this renaissance.

Happy hour is every day from 4-7pm when all drinks are £2 and they have brought back the free curry Mondays - served from 5.30-8pm - woo hoo!

There are newspapers, books you can borrow, a few games and good staff. The bar menu is back on the blackboard where it belongs, albeit a little shorter than it used to be and still a few 'restaurant' tables at the back.

All it needs now is a return of the fairy lights around the bar and I'll be a very happy customer.

No connection...

The reviews on this page are the personal opinions of the writers and not the publishers of this website.

If you feel that this page contains inappropriate material, please let us know.

Subscribe now

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.

7,300+ locals read it every week. Can you afford to miss out?

Read the latest issue before signing up

Food & drink