Reviews of O-Tower Caribbean Cuisine

Tower Bridge Road, London SE1

All I can say is HMMMM

Posted by Pops on Saturday 25 January 2014

Curried goat is to die for. Great value for money to. Will certainly be back

Rude staff

Posted by enricomunari on Thursday 15 August 2013

The incredibly rude staff makes the quality of the food irrelevant. I've been twice and on both occasions I felt like they didn't want me to be there. It's a shame because I live locally, but I will not go back.

O-Tower Caribean Cuisine - Excellent!

Posted by sl123 on Saturday 13 April 2013

Popped in here last night for a bite to eat and the food was delicious, superb goat curry (best I've tasted in London), excellent starters and friendly service. We took a few beers along with us which wasn't a problem at all. Will definitely revisit soon - excellent value for money and good to know they also do take-away (whilst we were in, someone who had travelled from Croydon came in to pick up his take-away..) I fully recommend the goat curry with rice and peas!

excellent food at oO Tower

Posted by densie59 on Monday 8 April 2013

I visited O Tower restaurant recently
and the food is excellent would recommend that you try it out, could not fault the food and value for money.

What you cannot finish you can take home with you, and you can even bring your own wine with you.

mouthwatering

Posted by padraic on Sunday 24 March 2013

I've been a regular here over the past couple of years and always have had the most beautiful food and friendly service. Can't recommend Orville's place enough.

Good Food, Good Prices but Inconsistent Service

Posted by elle2 on Wednesday 23 January 2013

Been a few times over the last year and have never really found the found quality to drop.. always very nice and tasty Caribbean food as per usual.

The Price is very cheap and beyond reasonable but if im honest I would prefer to take away as the service can sometimes be rude and obnoxious. The Head chef / owner Orvillee is a wonderful man but his Wife Sheila can sometimes be very grumpy and approach with hostility...

unfortunately my friend and I had to stop eating in here and maybe have decided to take away to avoid rude service.

A different experience to most

Posted by Laurence on Tuesday 18 December 2012

Well, the food is ok but the biggest difference I experienced from everyone else was the incredible rudeness i encountered. It was like we'd ruined her day by setting foot in her restaurant. I'd never been before so didn't know the score but when we entered the owner/manager was sitting at a table and said ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to us until we enquired about whether food was being served. She then ticked us off for not immediately indicating if we wanted take away or to eat in. Had she greeted us with any degree of respect there would have been no problem. But she expected us to wander in, know that she worked there, and also know whether the kitchen was open. We did stay because we were very hungry and her manner improved a little bit over time. But as for offering a warm welcome, forget it. I suspect this is the sort of place where if they like the look of then all's fine. If not, be prepared to be treated like mud on their boots.

Our Current Favourite

Posted by Bowgreave on Sunday 28 October 2012

These reviews are right. Superb food and ridiculously inexpensive prices. We've been through most of the menu a couple of times. Orville and Sheila are a great couple - they've even had a pelican crossing installed right outside to help you across to the wine fridge at Tesco Metro.

EXTREMELY HAPPY CUSTOMERS

Posted by samboss on Thursday 27 September 2012

I cant believe I have worked in London Bridge for 2 years and have not been to this place. The price for the portion you get amazing. And the chef is a legend ;)

Sam/Adrian/Shaun/Trevor/Tom

Great Tastes and Value @ O-Tower Caribbean Cuisine

Posted by liberty king on Friday 2 September 2011

The service is friendly, warm, pleasant and welcoming.

The food is tasty, authentic and well worth a try. While we were there people were dropping in to order for take home.

We had Fried Plantain, Curried Goat and Rice n Peas. The portions were good and the chef and wife take great pride in satisfying diners.

It's great that you we can bring our own bottle too.

The prices are very reasonable and great value.

Fantastic

Posted by JRob on Thursday 25 August 2011

I hadn't even noticed this place had changed hands and had a makeover, apparently almost a year ago. I was walking home from the hair salon and famished and suddenly realized it was there in front of me. It was an odd hour and no other customers were in but I gave it a shot and it was so delicious. As I sat there a few people passed through for takeaway and everyone seemed to be a regular customer. I had jerk chicken with rice, fried plantains and a ginger beer, all for under £10 and even though I was starving I still had some left over -- generous portions and a very reasonable price. The chicken was very moist and sitting in a load of juices, perfectly spiced. The owner was very nice and passionate about his cooking. Can't wait to go back, what a bonus to my day that was.

Another Orville fan!

Posted by juanita on Tuesday 23 August 2011

The captain & I grabbed a takeaway on Sunday evening, and had our first taste of delicious Caribbean food. We tried the jerk chicken, which certainly had a bit of a spicy kick, as well as the fried fish special, which was only lightly fried. Each main course is only £5.50 and comes with an enormous portion of rice & peas. There is plenty of coconut milk in the rice.

The restaurant is very pretty with fresh flowers & tablecloths, and Orville & Sheila were so pleasant & welcoming. We will definitely be back for a sit-down meal very soon. Do go along & support a great little local business.

Absolutely excellent

Posted by S.G on Saturday 9 July 2011

Myself and my boyfriend read the fantastic reviews on this site and since we live near to O Tower we made the trip over there tonight. It was absolutely lovely. Ridiculously cheap, high quality, nicely spiced food and generous portions! We were starving and this place didn't disappoint. The bring your own wine is an added bonus.
We will, without doubt, be returning soon to this friendly, cosy and lovely addition to the SE1 neighbourhood.

This is now O-TOWER CARIBBEAN CUISNE

Posted by MRWHITE on Wednesday 25 May 2011

This has now been taken over by a man who knows how to cook and boy can he, every dish is amazing I have issues working out what to have, the main man (Orville)makes his own cakes, has fresh juices, orange, cucumber and ginger, tropical, carrott, sour sup, sorrel and Guinness punch, O-TOWER CARIBBEAN CUISNE is the new name and is a lovely place to sit in and eat as it is not just a take away, the front of house is run by Orvills wife Sheila, both are as friendly as can be and very welcoming, prices are amazing.
So come and tuck in if you want proper Caribbean foodI love the Brown beef stew its amazing and Im having it for dinner tonight pooow

Highly recommended!

Posted by The Hutch on Saturday 23 April 2011

I went here with my girlfriend on wednesday night for the 1st time. This is a brilliant place for authentic home cooked West Indian food and the prices make it all the better. We had curried goat and a chefs special chicken, rice n peas, fried plantain and sweet potatoe and the price was an unbelievable £13. Also it's a byo place which really helps make it a reason to go out in the week.

I will definitely be going back often for both eat in and take sways!

No connection etc etc

Excellent

Posted by MentalDental on Saturday 16 April 2011

Great place - we had good, authentic Caribbean food (fried plantain, crab claws, curried goat and jerk chicken) all of which were delicious and had clearly been cooked with some care.

Service was friendly, and it's bring-your-own-booze, so a meal for two, as described above came to less then 20 pounds, which was great value.

They do take aways too.

On the whole, a great addition to Tower Bridge Road, and worth seeking out.

The reviews on this page are the personal opinions of the writers and not the publishers of this website.

If you feel that this page contains inappropriate material, please let us know.

Subscribe now

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.

7,300+ locals read it every week. Can you afford to miss out?

Read the latest issue before signing up

Food & drink