The London Fire Brigade Museum will be opening its doors as part of the Open House event. The museum is located in Winchester House, once home to the first chief officer of the London Fire Service.
The house became the official residence of subsequent chief officers until a new Brigade headquarters opened in 1937 in Lambeth. Winchester House was used as offices during World War Two and also provided accommodation for a number of senior officers.
In 1967 Winchester House became home to the Brigade’s heritage collection. The open day provides a unique chance to explore previously unseen areas of the museum, once used by the first chief officer of the Brigade, Captain Sir Eyre Massey Shaw during his residency.
11am Talk: Behind closed doors: The residents of Winchester House
2pm Talk: From Shaw to shore : The restoration of the Massey Shaw fireboat